Asian Seminary of Christian Ministries

In 1973, the vision of ASCM was born out of a desire to train men and women for the ministry. With a few books, very few teachers, and a handful of students, Rev. Arthur W. Pettyjohn founded the Church of God Bible Academy (COGBA) in Pasay City, Philippines. COGBA offered a three-year diploma course. Rev. Gerald Holloway, the second Director of COGBA, elevated the program to Bachelor's level, offering Bachelor of Theology (BTh) and Bachelor of Christian Education (BCE). In 1980, the school was renamed Asian School of Christian Ministries (ASCM). ASCM obtained correspondence status with the Philippine Association of Bible and Theological Schools (PABATS). In 1985, the late Dr. Melba L. Pineda served as ASCM's acting Director.

In 1986, Dr. Robert R. Seyda was appointed as the school's first full-time President and ASCM moved to its present location in the ACCM Building in Makati City, which was built with Church of God YWEA funds. ASCM received full accreditation with PABATS in February 1988 and a minor in music was added.

In 1989, Dr. Hubert P. Black assumed presidency of ASCM and initiated a Master's degree program the following year. ASCM was renamed the Asian Seminary of Christian Ministries.

In 1992, Dr. Miguel O. Alvarez became president and launched the External Studies program. He established the Master of Divinity (MDiv) Program in 1994 and started the Master of Christian Leadership (MCL) in 1995. In December 1995, ASCM was registered with the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). In 1996, ASCM's Bachelor programs received accreditation with the Asia Theological Association (ATA) and the Commission on Higher Education (CHED) of the Philippine Government recognized the BTh, BCE, and the MDiv programs. In 2000, the Master of Arts in Christian Leadership (MACL), the certificate in Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages (TESOL), Certificate in Church Musicianship (CCM), and additional specialization tracks for the BCE program were initiated.

In 2001, Dr. Charles W. Quinley assumed the presidency. He revised the MCL program, which received accreditation from CHED in 2002. In 2004, the External Studies program added the Church of God's Certificate in Ministerial Studies (CIMS).

In 2006, Dr. Scott C. Rains became president. He established the Doctor of Ministry (DMin) Program in June 2008. In 2009, the Bachelor programs were revised, changing the BTh to a Bachelor of Arts in Theology (BA) with nine concentrations and the BCE to a Bachelor of Education (BEd) with three concentrations. The Masters programs were also revised adding a Master of Arts in Pastoral Ministry (MA), four concentrations to the MDiv, as well as thesis and non-thesis tracts to the MA and MDiv programs. In May 2009, CHED recognized the revised BA, BEd, MA, and MDiv programs. In January 2010, an ASCM extension program was established in India offering the MA in Pastoral Ministries and the MA in Christian Leadership. In May 2010, all of the Bachelor and Masters programs were re-accredited by ATA. In January 2011, ASCM was accredited by the Philippine Government's Department of Education's (DepEd) Bureau of Alternative Learning System (ALS) as an ALS Service Provider. In June 2011, two new Masters programs, the Master of Social Work (MSW) and the Masters of Applied Linguistics (ALP), were launched. Also in June 2011, ASCM fully integrated the new practical and holistic ministry program called Community Transformation Initiative (CTI) into the overall curriculum. In October 2011, the MSW program received Philippine Government recognition through CHED. In May 2012, an ASCM satellite extension was established in Africa offering the MA in Christian Leadership. In June 2012, the MA in Applied Linguistics (MA) was started.

Fields of Study

The school has not yet provided the fields of study offered.

Partner Companies